Damn you, Indecision!

Custom ROM experiment: a double-edged sword

I’ve been really happy finally running Jelly Bean on my Galaxy Note. Google Now is pretty useful. The device overall seems less crashy and more responsive. The tweaks added to some custom ROMs are really cool, whether it’s something like per-app DPI settings, or additions to the notification drawer. But of course these ROMs are beta products, so it’s not all kittens and rainbows.

image

Case in point, my GPS reception is absolutely horrible now. I have tried different ROMs and even a different kernel and still have GPS issues. It’s a major bummer because a) I play Ingress, so having decent GPS is key, and b) I do use nav and location-based apps a fair amount, so all of that is hugely affected by the poor GPS performance. Apparently Samsung devices were already kind of poor with GPS reception compared to other brands, but now running a custom ROM is making things worse. I really don’t want to go back to stock but I may just have to bite the bullet while I haven’t bought a replacement phone.

If anyone has any suggestions for how to fix my GPS reception and still run a custom ROM, that’d be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

