Damn you, Indecision!

I Love You, Samsung Galaxy Note!

http://asset.slashgear.tv/sgplayer.swf

Over on Netbook News I wrote up some posts about the Samsung Galaxy Note, and mentioned in one of them that I was really interested in the Note because of its stylus input and Samsung’s tweaks to support the stylus more fully than the HTC Flyer did. The Note even stores the stylus in a silo on the device similarly to old-school PDAs, which I totally rocked back in the day. 🙂

Looking at more of the stylus features demoed in Slashgear’s video, I am even more enamored of the Galaxy Note now. The digital ink strokes look really smooth, and there are Tablet-PC-like features, like being able to make irregularly-shaped crops just by drawing around what you want to crop out of an image or webpage. It seems like Samsung really thought about how someone would use a paper notepad, scrapbooks, or journals and translated that to features on the Galaxy Note. They’re also going to release an SDK for stylus features so that 3rd-party developers can use stylus input as well.

Combine this with the Galaxy Note’s bright, vivid, 5.3″ Super AMOLED screen, and the 8MP rear-facing camera, and wow, I think the Note just pushed the the Galaxy Tab 7.7 straight off my wish list. I used to scoff at huge phones with screens larger than 4″ because it just seemed kind of ridiculous and unnecessary since you could use a tablet if you need more screen real estate. However, with all of the features of the Galaxy Note, I think I’ve totally picked up what Samsung put down. Samsung says it would be a great primary device since it’s small enough to carry everywhere like you carry your smartphone, but the screen is large enough to handle tablet tasks. I agree wholeheartedly! (Besides, I barely use my smartphone as a phone, so even though the Galaxy Note would be kind of large device to hold up to your face, I wouldn’t be doing that very often. 🙂 ) 

I always reserve the right to change my mind, but for right now, based on the demos I’ve seen, I am totally ready to say that the Samsung Galaxy Note might just be my next phone/tablet-thingy. 🙂

P.S. It still might be difficult to ink blog on it if it doesn’t have good palm rejection support, but considering I’ve ink blogged on the iPad and iPhone 4, neither of which really have good palm rejection, it would likely be fine on the Galaxy Note as well.

2 responses

  1. TimS

    After having a Palm TX with stylus, that size I have always said if phone co. Made one that size I would jump all over it. Said to see that Samsung is saying they won’t have it USA. Hope they change their mind. I use my present phone to Webb surf n email, text more than a phone, size is not a concern to me.

    September 2, 2011 at 7:40 am

  2. jorj x mcKie

    I’ve had the Note for a few weeks now and love it. Could be a bit better in a few areas however. Stylus parallax error is noticeable, esp if you rotate. Palm rejection is hit or miss, but size keeps palm off most of time anyway. Finally, handwriting recognition is really lousy. It seems that all of these issues are likely addressed with the 10.1 tablet, so the little Note might really be awesome when it gets the same tweaks via ICS. Gee, this sounds like I have issues .doesn’t it? Really,.three a note its friggin awesome.

    March 6, 2012 at 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

