Damn you, Indecision!

Wild Speculation Time: Samsung Galaxy Note

When I was looking at a recent Slashgear article with more details about the Tab 7.7, I looked at their photo and wondered what the dual-screened device was in the lower right corner:

Newness

I started searching around for information about any known Samsung dual-screened devices and came across a blog post on Sammy Hub from 10 days ago with some supposed prototype drawings from Samsung:

Now unless I've missed something really obvious, the dual-screened device in Slashgear's photo is some kind of concept or something, not a pre-existing device. Please comment and correct me if I'm wrong.

So I'm wondering if the Samsung Note is going to be a dual-screened device, perhaps an e-reader, or a tablet. "Note" could be in reference to a notebook of the dead-tree variety, hence the vertical hinge. That's just a wild guess, of course. Besides the Nintendo DS/DS Lite, there aren't many other dual-screened devices out there that were super-popular. The Kyocera Echo, while cool-looking, doesn't seem to have caught consumer interest. And even the Nintendo 3DS, another dual-screened game console, has been faltering, but that's more due to lack of compelling 3D games, rather than anything to do with the form-factor.

That's all for my wild speculation. Do let me know if you recognize the mystery device in the photo above. 

Dual-qwerty

Dual-touch

2 responses

  1. It’s actually a concept device Samsung showed off at the tail-end of last year, a clamshell MID with a pair of 4.5-inch high-res displays:

    http://www.slashgear.com/samsungs-displays-get-video-demo-dual-amoled-mid-flexible-screens-transparent-notebooks-10113338/

    August 29, 2011 at 3:45 am

  2. Ah! I had the feeling like there was probably news about this device and I’d just missed it. Thanks for posting, Chris. Also, shoot! I guess I have a couple more days to speculate still. 🙂

    August 30, 2011 at 1:37 am

Leave a Reply

