Damn you, Indecision!

Via TUAW: What to do with your old iPhone

Hopefully in a couple days I will have the decidedly 1st-world problem of figuring out what to do with my old iPhone 3G when I get my upgrade iPhone 4. <a href=”http://www.tuaw.com/2010/06/22/what-to-do-with-your-old-iphone/“>This article from TUAW</a> has a great list of ideas to keep your iPhone 3G(S) useful if you aren’t going to sell it (which I might still do, not sure yet).

The idea that’s currently at the top of my list to consider is turning my 3G into a universal remote. I haven’t priced everything out yet, but I think buying an IR dongle and some good remote software for the 3G will be a lot more cost-effective than buying a separate universal remote from some brand like Logitech. It would definitely be way more customizable than a Harmony remote, but I worry about the lack of tactile buttons. Back when I got a Philips universal remote that mainly used the touchscreen for controls (forgot the model number), I realized that for my preference, having a standard set of hardware buttons for basic functionality was better than touch controls. Well, we’ll see. I may just change my mind and either sell the thing (anyone want it?), or do something else from TUAW’s list. Suggestions?   

Leave a Reply

