Damn you, Indecision!

Should I Stay or Should I Go?

Some of you probably have noticed that all of the posts (except for this one) that end up here on Late to the Party actually come from my Posterous blog. I love Posterous because it’s so easy to e-mail posts, post via bookmarklet, and have it automatically handle formatting for embedded media. It has a tad less flexibility with themes and adding stuff like RSS feed sidebars (or at least I haven’t figured out how to do this yet), but I like the current theme I’ve chosen over there. Conversely, I have become increasingly annoyed at having to edit the cross-posted entries here because WordPress.com doesn’t automatically handle embedding Youtube videos and sometimes the formatting gets wonky. Also, the available themes here seem so blah to me. In general, I’m feeling WordPress.com blog fatigue. Things seem so dated. (I can’t e-mail blog posts directly? Really?) I’m sure I’d have a lot more flexibility if I switched to a WordPress blog that isn’t hosted on WordPress.com because a lot of the limitations would be removed, but why should I when my Posterous blog is working out so well for me?

Also, I’m not sure if it’s incompatibility with Chrome or what, but everytime (100%!) I have tried to update a blog post here to reflect changes made on the Posterous version, hitting the “publish” button just makes the page hang. I have always had to basically cancel the changes or reload, restore the autosaved version and then hitting the publish link works. SO. TIRED. OF. THAT.

This was my first real blog, and I know there are a few people subscribed to me here, but I think that if you happy few would change your subscriptions to my new blog, you can see a better representation of my current posts. So what say you? Should I just keep cross-posting to this blog from Posterous, or should I stop posting here and concentrate on my Posterous blog? If I do stop cross-posting here, I’ll still leave the existing posts, and just have a “goodbye” post that points to my new blog, so it’s not like all this content is getting deleted. Let me know what you guys think.

2 responses

  1. Fine, I’m switching to your new feed and blog. But let me just say, this is why I have chosen the “one feed to rule them all” approach. Four feeds spliced in Yahoo! Pipes, distributed as one feed through Feedburner.

    April 1, 2010 at 10:37 am

  2. Well that would be fine if I were posting different stuff on this blog from my Posterous blog and just decided to shut this one down. But all of my recent posts here have just been cross-posts from my other blog. And I’m just annoyed at WordPress.com being all lame and not handling embedded media in a better way.

    As far as an aggregation of my other feeds, I could do that simply through FriendFeed or Google Buzz, too (already do through FriendFeed, sort of). But realistically I only have the resources/attention span to maintain one blog right now, so Posterous wins.

    I’ll post an update once I’ve pulled the trigger…

    April 5, 2010 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

