Damn you, Indecision!

HTC EVO 4G: Sprint’s First WiMAX Phone

In other words, the HTC EVO 4G is an important device not only because of its blockbuster specs (4.3-inch screen, Snapdragon processor, 1GB built-in memory, 512MB RAM, Wi-Fi, 720p video recording and playback, HDMI out to play content on your TV, 8-megapixel camera with flash and a lower resolution front-facing camera for videoconferencing, and ability to Android () 2.1), but also as the first phone to support the next-generation 4G WiMAX network for theoretically blazing fast data speeds.

It can also act as a portable hotspot to connect your other devices to broadband Internet speeds — if you’re familiar with the MiFi device, it’s like that but built into your phone. And it will be available this summer.

Anyone else drooling yet?

You know, I’ve said several times that I never want to go back to Sprint because I had a crappy experience with them a long, long, time ago. However, their recent offerings and very low mobile broadband prices have been sort of tempting me. This newly-announced WiMAX phone from HTC is quite the looker, both in hardware and specs, so who knows… By this summer, if the next-gen iPhone doesn’t have the updates I am wanting, I may finally move away from the iPhone as my smartphone. We’ll see. I’m always changing my mind about these things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

