Damn you, Indecision!

Slow as molasses in March

20100301-rsgj23qph1cji55cr75ki77qd3.jpg

Oh for crying out loud, why must iPhone backups take SO DAMN LONG?  My iPhone is about half full of content according to iTunes, yet it is taking *forever* to back up this measly ~7.5GB of stuff.  Has there been any real explanation about why iPhone backups take so long?  I can't imagine what the technical reason for these lengthy backups could be.  Sure, I could cancel a backup by clicking on the "x" button in the iTunes status window, but a) a quick glance at an old discussion forum thread implies that canceling a backup could corrupt a current backup (not sure how valid that is), and b) the only real times that I connect my iPhone to my computer and initiate a backup is because I'm either upgrading the firmware or jailbreaking, times during which one should be vigilant about creating a backup.  In this case, I wanted to jailbreak my phone for the several-th time, but the backup is killing my momentum.  And as I posted earlier on Google Buzz, I usually end up getting a hankering to do the jailbreak sometime late at night, so slowing the process down with an unfathomably-long backup is not desirable. 😛  

I guess I'll have to let the backup happen overnight and continue in the morning.  Lamesauce.

Leave a Reply

