Damn you, Indecision!

Top 15 Best Jailbroken Apps for the iPhone | JordanDev

Jailbreaking an iPhone is essential. Without all of the jailbroken apps the phone would be severely limited in functionality and usability compared to most other smartphones. Apple’s restrictions on what you can install is THE major problem with the iPhone. Jailbreaking is the solution around their limitations. There are many apps available now through Cydia or RockApp. Some are free, and some are paid. I have used everything. Everybody has their own ideas on what is useful, but here is my opinion on the best jailbroken apps:

I’ve jailbroken my iPhone several times in the past, but I currently have the stock firmware running. Personally I think it’s exaggeration to say that jailbreaking the iPhone is essential. I am doing just fine running the stock firmware, and I know what I’m missing out on. The jailbroken apps that I ran, while quite convenient, were not what I considered to be essential, so restoring my iPhone was not a big deal. At any rate, seeing some of the apps in this list has gotten me kind of interested in jailbreaking my iPhone again. 🙂 But for now, I’ll leave it. I’m curious to see what is coming in iPhone 4.0, and those changes might be announced sometime next month.

However, if you are looking for reasons to jailbreak your phone, quite a few of the apps in this list make it seem worth it, so hit up the link above and enjoy.

2 responses

  1. I recently went back to stock firmware for awhile and the phone frustrated me too much to not jailbreak again, so it was essential for me. If iPhone 4.0 adds multitasking, better texting, lockscreen improvement, and something like SBSettings I think I’d be fine staying on stock firmware. Here’s hoping.

    February 11, 2010 at 11:41 pm

  2. I think that Apple’s watching what the jailbreakers are doing, and they’ll probably pilfer some ideas. They have the option in iTunes to rearrange apps among the home screens on the computer and then syncing that info to the phone. Perhaps it’s a coincidence that it’s just like a jailbroken app to do the same thing, perhaps not. 🙂

    I do agree that the lockscreen needs more info. And I think Apple’s version of multitasking, whatever that is, is coming in 4.0. I think by now they don’t really have a good excuse not to have it, considering Android and webOS do. Also if the iPad is going to use the iPhone OS, it makes sense to add multitasking for it, so why not port to iPhone as well? But yeah, we’ll see. I am definitely eager to see what’s coming for 4.0.

    February 12, 2010 at 2:28 am

Leave a Reply

