Damn you, Indecision!

TechCrunch | SquarePik: A New Foursquare iPhone App Based Around Pictures And Videos

SquarePik is an app that lets you check-in on Foursquare while at the same time dropping an image or video at a venue you check-in at. Because Foursquare doesn’t support media natively, SquarePik does by combining Foursquare’s check-in API with its own backend to store the pictures and record their location. Sadly, to see these pictures or videos you have to sign in to your Pikchur account (which you can do with your Foursquare credentials) on the web.

Bah. I was all excited about this app because I thought it finally meant that Foursquare would support uploading geotagged pictures like Brightkite, but this is not the case. 😛 I really like the gaming aspect of getting check-in points with Foursquare, but I sorely miss being able to post geotagged photos related to the place I just checked in — a big example being food pictures. I also often used Brightkite to post pictures of notable things I saw in stores, moblog-style. So at the moment I’m “forced” (this is such a first-world problem) to use Foursquare to check-in, then if I want to post any pictures, use Brightkite.

In addition, Brightkite has a cool feature where people can comment on your Brightkite posts, and I miss that, too. I often see Foursquare check-ins pop up on my screen and wish I could comment on them. Sometimes I can if the person chose to forward the check-in to Twitter, but that’s not always the case.

So I guess my “perfect” location-based service/app would have the photo and conversation capabilities of Brightkite and the gaming/points/check-in feature from Foursquare. I guess I could sort of use Google Buzz like Brightkite, but I’d lose the Foursquare points/gaming aspect…hmph. Anyone up to mashing Brightkite and Foursquare together? Brightsquare? Fourkite? 🙂

Leave a Reply

