Damn you, Indecision!

Buckyballs: little magnetic metal balls that are fun to play with

The fun part about Buckyballs is the way they balls arrange themselves when you stick them together. The balls have a preference for certain crystalline structures. There seems to be a huge variety of structures the balls like to arrange themselves into, as you can see in the video above. (Learn other tricks with Buckyballs.) When I play with them, I feel like my hands are a nanotechnology machine sticking atoms together.

Via Boing Boing Gadgets

I got a set of these magnets from the hubby for Christmas, and since he liked tinkering around with them so much, that I bought him a set as well. I actually almost bought the Buckyballs for him in the first place, but opted for other fun items. 🙂 

They are addictive to play around with, and yeah, your fingers do get sore from prying the magnets apart because their pull is rather strong. I once made a bracelet out of the set and wore it when I went out (just to the mall, post-Xmas with the fam, nothing special). I’ve kind of set them aside for now, but whenever I need a simple toy to play with, I’ll get them out again. 

Leave a Reply

