Damn you, Indecision!

Toshiba M200 reborn

51DPG1X2MTL._SS400_.jpg

Well, my Tablet PC isn't reborn yet. I'm currently in the middle of backing up its hard drive before I restore the XP install.  A long time ago the hubby was using the M200 as his surfing machine (I had moved on to the Fujitsu P1610 at that point, IIRC), but something freaked out the XP install and he couldn't boot the machine. We wanted to back up the hard drive because he had some data that needed to be saved, but I think at the time we couldn't find our external HD enclosure for notebook hard drives, so the M200 languished on a shelf until last night.  

A few days ago we were cleaning out the hobby room as part of our preparation to move out to CA, and I found the M200 sitting on some shelf.  Seeing it again reminded me that the HD needed backing up.  After picking it up and flipping the screen around I was compelled to resurrect it as an ink blogging and surfing machine (and it'll be my Windows machine for such unenlightened programs that are Windows-only :P).  But since I don't have an external optical drive that the M200 recognizes as bootable, I had to hunt down the bootable SD card that I had created in order to use a regular external optical drive.  After a few searches late last night I found all of the resources I need to restore the M200, except for an external optical drive.  I sold my slot-loading optical drive with the P1610 a while back, so I still have to find an optical drive.  But I'm hopeful I'll find one laying around in the basement or in the office upstairs, so the reborn M200 shouldn't be too long in arriving. 🙂  

I used to think that the M200 was such a heavy machine because it was a beast in comparison to the P1610.  But the M200 is as light as air compared to my 13" MacBook unibody. :-/  However, the keyboard on the M200 feels really chintzy now.  Oh well, it's just going to be my "netbook" so it's no big deal.  Also, I wish I could put Windows 7 on the M200, but I am not willing to deal with all the hassle of tracking down appropriate drivers, kludging things together  and still having issues with certain things not working right.  I'll just deal with Tablet XP.  I want this restore to go as smoothly as possible, with the least effort required.

I just read an article about an impending refresh of the iMac and MacBook lines in time for the holidays.  Secretly I'm hoping that soon after I go through all this trouble to restore my M200, that Apple will finally announce their tablet computer. 😀  Of course, it's unlikely it'll be pen-based, so having the M200 around will still be useful and fun.  I miss ink blogging!  I hope I can get that going again!
4 responses

  1. OK. You now have me installing Windows 7 on my M205. 🙂 What are weekends for, anyway?

    September 26, 2009 at 11:47 am

  2. Well, it seems you got it running okay, so hey, new toy! 🙂

    September 27, 2009 at 9:39 pm

  3. Chris

    FWIW – I did a clean install of Windows 7 RTM on my M200 and it automatically found every single device with only one exception – the SD card reader. It was an unbelievably easy installation. My M200 lives again – Windows 7 runs really nice on this little device. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!

    October 10, 2009 at 9:48 pm

  4. Thanks for the input, I’ll consider it. Although, not having the SD card reader would kind of hamper functionality for me, especially since I have a bootable SD card that I use for when I have to restore Windows (since I don’t have an external drive that the M200 recognizes as bootable). Do you know of a driver that would work?

    October 10, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

