Damn you, Indecision!

Random iPhone/MacBook tip

I discovered by accident that at least one of the USB ports on my MacBook is still powered even if the machine is asleep. So I’m able to use the MacBook as a charger or mega-huge external battery for my iPhone. Not so convenient if you want to be mobile, but convenient enough if you don’t have an outlet nearby and will be sticking to one place for a while. πŸ™‚
 
Of course, this will be moot once I get one of those external battery cases for my iPhone. I’m leaning towards the Mophie Air Juice Pack (I think that’s what it’s called) due to the nice reviews I’ve heard on MacBreak Weekly AND because it’s available in purple. πŸ˜€ However, if you use an external battery pack case and want to extol its virtues, by all means let me know. I do prefer a battery case rather than those external battery packs that hang off the dock connector so that it’s a more compact and usable form factor when in use. Hit me up in the comments with battery case recs!

2 responses

  1. I don’t have an iPhone myself, but my colleagues Vincent, Ewdi and Daniel all do and they swear by the Mophie Juice Pack. The extra battery life really saved the day back at CES.

    July 2, 2009 at 4:01 am

    • Thanks, Chris! Yeah, I like the idea of a battery case, but wouldn’t want to add too much bulk, which is why I’m leaning towards the Mophie Air. Granted I am not going to trade shows blogging on the go, but I do run down my iPhone’s battery everyday since I basically use it as a tablet computer all day, monitoring my social networks and other sites constantly (I’m SO READY for the Mac tablet!).

      July 2, 2009 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

