Damn you, Indecision!

Sharpie Pen 6-pk test

Sharpie Pen 6-pk test

Yesterday afternoon I went out in search of a multipack of Sharpie pens. Recently I had started using one again after reading a thread about them on FriendFeed. I had a pack & used one a long time ago, but at that time I was into pens with a finer line, like my favorite Sakura Pigma Micron 01s. But after I rediscovered the Sharpie pens, their thicker line started to grow on me. Anyway, in the FriendFeed thread (editor’s edit: I think!) I had read about the 4-packs with black, blue, red, and green. I went out in search of the 4-pack, but found something better — a 6-pack with orange and purple included! 🙂 You all probably know my favorite color is purple, so this was quite a find for me. 🙂 Hopefully when I test the colors below, none of them look bad. I’d read some complaints that the blue pens had some inconsistent shades. Anyway, here is a color test…

blue – not bad, nice slightly peacock shade (at least in the current lighting)
red – also not bad, would’ve preferred darker
green – I don’t usually like green, but this is nice & bright
orange – I’m also not a big fan of orange, but again the clear brightness of the shade is good
purple – Cool, the deep purple shade I was expecting!

Looks like I spent my money well. 😀

=====

Editor’s note: the picture above doesn’t quite illustrate the bright transparency of the green and orange shades, or the slight peacock shade of the blue. I was too lazy to try to get closer to the original colors.

7 responses

  1. Nice review, I think Sharpies are always money well spent! 😉

    Impressive handwriting too, so straight and without printed lines to follow! 🙂

    March 3, 2009 at 8:18 am

  2. Thanks! And I’ll have to add your site to my RSS feeds, looks like you have a lot of good content that will make me want to spend money on more writing utensils. 🙂

    March 3, 2009 at 12:36 pm

  3. I’m often blamed for causing people to spend their money…I like to think I’m part of the stimulus package. 😉

    March 3, 2009 at 6:52 pm

  4. steverowlands

    I don’t think these are available in the UK yet, or at least I can’t find them anywhere, much to my irritation.

    A fellow Moleskine enthusiast I see…. Do those pens bleed through the paper?

    March 7, 2009 at 9:37 am

  5. Hi, Steve. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 Nope, the Sharpie pens don’t bleed through. These are pigment ink pens with plastic nibs, not felt-tipped. On crappier quality paper, I found that they do bleed through a little, but not in my Moleskine.

    March 9, 2009 at 9:38 am

  6. Richard

    Nice review. I’m sitting here at my desk testing out pens in my new Moleskine and I just finished writing a little with the Sharpie Pen. I like it! Where did you find the 6-pack? I’ve searched and can’t find it yet. I see mention or 10-packs, but they just contain more of the four basic colors. I cannot find any mention of the orange or purple. Any product code?

    Thanks!

    May 4, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    • Richard

      Never mind, I just noticed on your Flickr stream that you have a picture of the 6-pack packaging (w/ product code) as well as mention Office Depot. 🙂 That answered my questions. Thanks!

      May 4, 2009 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

