Damn you, Indecision!

Google Reader and Instapaper could be like chocolate and peanut butter (without the salmonella)

I was sifting through my many unread items in Google Reader when I had this random thought: it would be really cool if there were a “Read later” button in Google Reader that would automatically add the article in question to your Instapaper queue. I star a lot of items in Google Reader with the intent of reading the articles later. But of course it’s more likely than not that I star an article and never get back to it. If I could shuttle that article off to Instapaper, I could open the Instapaper app on my iPhone and have a lot of interesting content to browse through whenever I have a spare minute. Of course, I could just open the original article in another tab and then hit my “Read later” bookmarklet, but what can I say, I’m lazy… 🙂

Can someone please code up a Greasemonkey script or something to do this? That would be awesome (sort of…I use Chrome at work and Webkit nightly at home, so a Greasemonkey script might force me to go back to Firefox, but I would strongly consider it for a Google Reader -> Instapaper script).

8 responses

  1. That is a super awesome idea (not just awesome, oh no! SUPER awesome)

    March 24, 2009 at 5:58 am

  2. Janet

    You read my mind. Exactly the same here. I hope a solution presents itself soon.

    April 3, 2009 at 7:05 pm

  3. Francisco

    Hi Jezlyn,

    Found your entry when I googled “instapaper rss google reader”

    I was trying to use my RSS reader to catch all the articles I’m tagging and want to read, but Google reader doesn’t recognize the RSS link.

    I’ve been using the stars as my “to read later” label and it hasn’t done much for me.

    I tried to add the RSS reader to iGoogle and it works, the articles show up, but I don’t use iGoogle.

    hmmmm…

    I like your solution. with adding an instapaper link on google reader. hope some googlers are reading your blog. or we can just mass email them at google to see if they’re listening.

    could you update this post if you find any solutions to this?

    thanks for writing about it!

    April 4, 2009 at 12:12 am

  4. Ran

    Do either of these work for you?

    http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/38624
    http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/37482

    Hope so.

    April 29, 2009 at 8:14 am

    • Unfortunately I can’t get either script to work for me, even though I went through the procedures to add my Instapaper key to each script. I would prefer it if the scripts would add a little button or link at the end of each entry where the “star”, “share”, “share with note”, and all of the other options were. I would also prefer that the script ask me for an Instapaper log on to make things a lot more user-friendly…

      Am I being too demanding? 🙂

      May 19, 2009 at 3:33 pm

      • Ran

        I would like the same thing, so I will say no, you’re not. Sadly, I cannot code what we want however.

        May 19, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    • @Ran: Were you able to get either script to work for you? I tried to put my Instapaper key in as described for either script, but when I used the hotkeys, nothing happened. I saw in one of the discussion threads that one or both of the scripts only works when you use list mode in Google Reader, but even when I used list mode, I couldn’t get an article to save to Instapaper.

      If you got either script to work, could you explain in excruciating detail how you got it to work?

      May 19, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  5. Google Reader’s new features just made this even easier. Check it out if interested: http://www.willw.net/adding-send-to-instapaper-into-google-reader/

    August 13, 2009 at 2:12 pm

Leave a Reply

