Damn you, Indecision!

PSA: Backup your data today!

Hey, Kids.

Just a friendly reminder to go and backup your data today (or ASAP). Tonight I noticed that my main shared hard drive wasn’t being recognized by my Mac mini (it’s been repurposed as a media server of sorts). When I tried hooking it up to a different computer, I noticed that flipping the power switch to the drive enclosure did nothing. I didn’t hear the drive spin up at all. OMG. Luckily the hubby was able to find a SATA to USB 2.0 adapter thingy that we bought a long time ago, and when we hooked up the bare drive with the adapter, it came to life. It took a while for my MacBook to recognize the drive, but eventually it came up. PHEW! I’m currently in the middle of copying over my precious data to another external drive, just in case the bare drive dies.

I currently don’t have a good backup solution. I am looking into buying a Drobo, but the total expense for the Drobo and 4 large hard drives is pretty hefty right now. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll try to find a good deal on yet another large external drive to use as a stopgap measure while we prepare to buy the Drobo and fresh new hard drives. I hate all of this nonsense about setting up backup solutions; I don’t like thinking about it. 😛 Time Machine would be the easiest thing I could do, I suppose. That, or ponying up for some “cloud” storage solution(s). I’m going to have to look into various options soon.

Anyway, set aside some time this weekend to back up your most important data, whether it’s pictures, documents, or media (especially DRMed purchases). You’ll thank me later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

