Damn you, Indecision!

Totally random tip of the day

I recently got a deep scratch on the outer part of my wrist from one of the kittens. For the longest time I couldn’t find a way to keep a rectangular bandage over the wound without using a ridiculously large one (like the kind you put on a skinned knee) so it could be securely anchored across my wrist. The problem was that during the course of the day, the skin on my wrist gets stretched and twisted from typing and moving my hand around. Anyway, the other day I ran out of the large rectangular bandages, but I saw that the knuckle bandages have a large enough pad to cover my scratch and still had enough adhesive around the pad to seal around my cut. I just had to position the bandage diagonally so the pad would cover my scratch, like so:

The great thing about this is that the shape causes the bandage not to be strained by the movement of the skin underneath. So, if you need to bandage a cut where a normal rectangular one won’t stay put, try a knuckle bandage. 🙂

2 responses

  1. Trade you:
    http://sumocats.blogspot.com/2008/09/honey-seals-cat-inflicted-wounds.html
    Homer slashed me on a crease in my palm, where it’s impossible to keep a bandage without working it loose, so I smeared some honey on it. Sealed and healed. Works under a bandage too.

    January 23, 2009 at 9:42 am

  2. What a great idea! But how did you prevent it from getting all over anything if you didn’t put a bandage on it?

    I might try smearing some honey on my cut even though it’s healing now, because the honey will probably help moisturize the area, besides being anti-bacterial.

    I “Wikipedia-ed” honey’s medicinal properties and found this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honey#Medicinal_uses_and_health_effects_of_honey

    I did use a lot of honey when I was super sick a couple years ago around the holidays; it was much more effective at killing my coughs than cough syrup (which NEVER WORKS for me).

    January 23, 2009 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

