Damn you, Indecision!

Quick rant about to-do apps

Today I again found myself wanting a to-do app that allows me to set alarms for certain tasks, specifically I wanted an iPhone app that does this. A very cursory Google search didn’t come up with anything useful, but admittedly my search was far from exhaustive. What bugs me is that most to-do apps do not have the functionality to set alarms. Why not?? Doesn’t this seem like a logical, intuitive feature for a to-do app to have? I don’t want to constantly be checking my to-do app to make sure I’m not forgetting anything; it’s the app’s job to remind me. Why else would i be typing up a list of to-dos in the firat place? I think I wanted some app like this even back when I had my Windows Mobile device. IIRC, the 3rd-party Palm PIM apps had this feature, but on later devices I found that I only needed a to-do app, not really a full-blown PIM app. What would be even cooler on GPS-enabled devices, is if the to-do app would wake up and pop up a reminder for tasks I have to do in certain locations, like remind me to buy some grocery item when I’m at the grocery store. But I am willing to forgo that “advanced” feature for the basic alarm feature. 😛

So what’s up, People? Where is my to-do app with alarm function? If anyone has app recommendations, I’m all ears.

3 responses

  1. I thought that Things would do this for you, but no such luck. However, I see why the alarm issue exists in the first place: http://culturedcode.com/things/iphone/faq.html#Alarms

    Looks like an iPhone SDK restriction. 😦

    January 21, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  2. Too bad you don’t have a Blackberry. This is default functionality and I believe there are third party apps that can use the GPS to alert you as well.

    January 22, 2009 at 7:42 am

  3. @Kevin: Thanks for the tip. Someone else on Twitter had mentioned something like this. What a pain… But still, in general, I never knew of a simple to-do list app with alarms on Windows Mobile or Symbian S60 (not that I knew about every to-do app on either of those platforms). Seems strange given the similar functionality in Outlook, where you can set up a reminder to follow-up on e-mails. I wish Apple would put in the background alerts or whatever for 3rd-party apps already. **sigh**

    @Vaughn: I’m not surprised that BlackBerry has this functionality, since from the beginning they’ve been enterprise-oriented. The problem is that BlackBerry devices would not fit with my needs for 98% of the time.

    January 22, 2009 at 9:39 pm

Leave a Reply

