Damn you, Indecision!

I love purple gadgets, part 1

Since I haven’t been blogging recently, many of you probably have forgotten that purple is my favorite color. Well, today I bought a cool case for my aluminum unibody Macbook that makes it into a purple gadget of sorts. πŸ™‚ It’s a two-piece case from Speck called the SeeThru Satin hard-shell case. It’s quite easy to install, just pop the appropriate pieces on the notebook lid and the main body, and you’re good to go. There are a few inconspicuous tabs on each piece that latch on to the notebook to keep the covers in place. It’s easy to remove so that you can occasionally clean off the inside of the case, which they recommend doing to avoid debris from accumulating in between the cover and the notebook. But it’s not so easy to take off that the pieces aren’t secure. As stated by the product name, the case has a satin finish which helps the whole package feel a bit more grippy when on your lap, or when carrying, which is a nice feature. We’ll see how well the case holds up to smudging, bumps, and scratches in everyday use. So far I’m liking it, especially because it makes my Macbook look different from others (the glowing apple on the notebook lid can still shine through the case, and it looks pretty cool in purple). πŸ™‚

Check out some pictures:

Speck SeeThru Satin case - top

Speck SeeThru Satin case - front

Speck SeeThru Satin case - left

Speck SeeThru Satin case - right

Speck SeeThru Satin case - bottom

Speck SeeThru Satin case - open

5 responses

  1. Eva

    Hello,
    Nice pictures! πŸ™‚
    It’s been over a year now, how is your case working?
    I am a bit worrying about the fingerprints that may leave on the case. So thinking about whether I should get a lighter color Pink, so the fingerprint wouldn’t be seen easily. Do you have any suggestion? Or does the purple show little fingerprints? thanks! πŸ™‚

    July 10, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  2. For me the case has been working just fine. It does show dust and fingerprints, but in general my laptop stays home these days, sitting on a shelf or a desk, so it doesn’t matter to me. I’m not sure if a lighter color would show less fingerprints; I think it’s just a consequence of the material used. However, I guess a translucent white or pink case might look cleaner with less maintenance, but really a quick swipe with a microfiber cloth would fix it up in a minute. πŸ™‚

    July 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

  3. Kim

    Hi, i know this is a tad late, but what exact color did you order? Yours is gorgeous and I’m trying to find one. Was it purple or aubergine?

    December 7, 2012 at 5:22 pm

  4. tina

    is this color aubergine or purple?

    March 19, 2013 at 11:45 am

    • I don’t recall exactly, and unfortunately I don’t think I have the packaging anymore, but I will guess that it’s either “purple” or “grape”. It’s possible that they don’t make this case anymore since it is for the older unibody 13″ MacBooks made right before they made all 13″ unibody laptops MacBook Pros.

      From what I can see, the “aubergine” color looks a bit more muted and perhaps less transparent than my case. But it still looks good…

      March 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

