Damn you, Indecision!

Our friendly neighborhood owl

Our friendly neighborhood owl

For a while now we’ve had an owl who periodically will perch on the houses near ours (or our own roof). And he hoots a lot while he’s around, so we know when he’s here. Finally I brought my tripod outside and used my 50mm 1.8 lens (it’s the fastest lens I have) to take long-shutter-speed shots of the owl. This one turned out alright, I think. I need a faster and longer lens for night shooting like this.

2 responses

  1. That’s a nice shot… how dark was it, and how long was the exposure? 🙂

    October 22, 2008 at 3:32 pm

  2. It was pretty dark out; the camera had trouble locking focus, so I just put it on manual focus at infinity and hoped it would turn out okay. Looking at the EXIF on Flickr, it said the shutter speed was 9 seconds; that seems pretty long. It was hard to get good shots since the owl would always move when it hooted, and kept turning around. I had a lot of pictures of the back of its head. 🙂 It really would’ve been nice to have the D90 in this situation, since I could’ve cranked up the ISO and be relatively sure I’d have low noise and retain lots of detail.

    October 25, 2008 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

