Damn you, Indecision!

FLY Fusion Pentop Computer

Just last Friday I bought a FLY Fusion pen from Target.  I was interested in seeing how well of a Tablet PC “replacement” it would be for ink blogging.  My first couple writing tests were not really what I expected, unfortunately.  The results are as jagged as my ink blogs from my Fujitsu P1610.  It seems that the sampling rate is not as high as I liked.  I’ll be doing some more writing samples to test out the device some more.  Here is an ink blog post I wrote:

10/12/07

New toy: Fly Fusion pen top computer

Today I decided to pick up a little gadget called the Fly Fusion, by LeapFrog.  It’s aimed at younger kids, from elementary to high school (maybe HS is too old…).  But I wanted to see how well it would work for digitizing handwritten notes, like for ink blogging.

So far, I’m impressed by the functionality in this little guy.  I won’t go into too much detail now, but suffice it to say, it’s an interesting device.  Entertaining. 🙂  It has a speaker that provides aural cues when you’re doing activities.  You can even play mp3s with it, or tap out some songs with the keyboard printed inside the back cover of the Fly Fusion notebooks, or you can draw your own instruments on a sheet of notebook paper!

One irritation so far: when my handwritten notes are saved as a jpg, it looks jagged!  I had hoped that I’d be able to achieve better-looking ink blogs using the Fly Fusion.  Oh well, I still like it. 🙂  More later, Kids.

Powered by ScribeFire.

3 responses

  1. MissLissa

    So – how easy is it for to convert to text? Did you have to interact a lot during the process? Envious minds want to know!

    October 18, 2007 at 3:09 pm

  2. How does it do with pictures or doodles?

    Does it come across jaggy?

    December 18, 2007 at 5:40 pm

  3. Josh

    I got this thing for Christmas and I JUST figured out how to use it. It is pretty cool, I do agree with you. I haven’t tried the convert to image but I have tried the convert to document thing…and it shows me that my handwriting is REALLY bad because it doesn’t recognize ANYTHING I write.

    December 31, 2007 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

