Damn you, Indecision!

Podcasts and the Nokia 770 and Nokia N95

Some of you may know that my current phone is a Nokia N95, and that I recently bought a Nokia 770 on Woot!.  I reached out to the Twitter/Jaikuverse to see if there was a podcatcher app for the 770, since there are some podcast sites that the 770’s browser doesn’t render properly, making it impossible to download directly from them. πŸ˜›  Luckily I got a link to GPodder from my Twitter/Jaiku friend, Atmasphere.  My reply of gratitude for the link turned into a mini blog post about why I’m trying to listen to podcasts on the 770, so I thought I’d post it here instead, to save verbiage on Jaiku, even though they don’t limit comment lengths. πŸ™‚

=====

Thanks!  I’ll have to try it out.  I thought I’d try to offload some WiFi usage from my N95 and try using the 770 as my podcast listening device at work, but so far downloading directly to the device hasn’t been the easiest thing.  The built-in RSS reader is useless, and a lot of podcast sites have all of this fancy-schmancy stuff that the 770 browser can’t render properly. πŸ˜› 

I tried putting feeds into Canola, and was listening to the latest TWiT.  It sounded great, and it was fine, until something killed the stream and my only choice was to start over. πŸ˜›  Couldn’t forward to the place I stopped listening, because it’s streaming.  This is why I am not a fan of streaming audio solutions.  Works fine until you have a broken connection, which disrupts the listening experience, and ruins it for me.  Also, Canola had problems resolving some feeds and bringing up episodes.  Feh.  The UI is very nice, but so far it hasn’t been as useful as I’d like.

So far, the N95 is the closest to my ideal podcast listening device — direct downloads, decent built-in media player with on-the-go playlist creation, okay hardware controls.  No bookmarking yet, but I’m looking forward to the rumored update to the music player to add that functionality.  That will be very welcome!

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses

  1. I’ve been toying with gpodder myself, and am unimpressed, but it’s something.

    July 9, 2007 at 1:07 pm

  2. Hey Cheryl! TAG! You’re it in a new blog game!

    July 9, 2007 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

