Damn you, Indecision!

Hmmm, am I getting too swayed by all things Nokia?

nokia_770_internet_tabletlni-standard.jpg

I don’t think so…  But I did just buy a Nokia 770 Internet Tablet from Woot.com a few minutes ago. *sheepish grin* I couldn’t resist it at $129.99 + $5 shipping!  Granted, it’s not exactly chump change, but considering what the device is, $130 is a rock-bottom price that I’m sure wouldn’t see anywhere else for a new (supposedly) 770.  It has a successor, the N800, of which many of you have seen my reviews, so it’s not like I’m getting the bleeding edge for super cheap.  However, I did like the web browsing and PDF viewing on the N800 the best, and I think that even with the 770’s “last year” technology, it should do quite well as an occasional browser and e-book reader. 

One thing I hated on the N800 was the fussiness of trying to get some of the Linux apps onto it (if it didn’t have a simple installer program already), so I fully expect to have that same annoyance in the 770, but hopefully it won’t be too bad.  I think some of the issues on the N800 were 770 apps that weren’t properly ported over, or the firmware being too new (it’s ridiculous that firmware that’s too new should be a bad thing) for some apps that hadn’t been updated, so perhaps the older firmware of the 770 might work to its advantage in those cases. πŸ™‚  One other thing that might be a caveat, besides the 770’s overall slowness (so many reviews have mentioned), is its memory card support.  It only supports RS-MMC cards, which seem to be hard to find right now.  I’ll have to scrounge around for a 2GB card; a quick Google search showed links to eBay for a 2GB card for about $25, so it might not be that big a deal.  People complain about companies like Sony using proprietary memory cards, but at least with “non-standard” cards like Memory Sticks, I can actually find those at the store! πŸ˜›  Oh well, once I get one 2GB RS-MMC, that’ll be the last I’ll need to worry about it, I hope.

This 770 Internet Tablet is my first Woot! purchase.  I hope all goes well with the order processing.  Supposedly it’ll be shipped within 5 business days, but I don’t even know what method of shipping they’ll use.  I guess I should just expect  it in a couple weeks so that I’ll be pleasantly surprised if it shows up earlier. πŸ™‚  I’ll try to post some kind of comparison with my experiences with the N800.  I’ll try to wrestle with installing 3rd-party software on the 770 and see if it annoys me as much as it did on the N800.  Maybe that’ll jog my memory for the 4th part of the N800 review I’ve been promising all this time!

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses

  1. As long as you’re not buying it just because it’s Nokia, I’d say you weren’t getting *too* swayed and at that price, I’d be swayed too.

    June 25, 2007 at 6:40 am

  2. Heh. πŸ™‚ Yeah, I’m not just buying it because it’s a Nokia device. I was pretty impressed by the N800, but not enough to go for it at retail price, or even the discounted prices you can get now. If the 770 can deliver the same web and e-book experience as the N800, I’ll be happy. Otherwise, I guess I’ll figure out something to do with the 770 eventually. πŸ™‚

    June 25, 2007 at 7:24 am

Leave a Reply

