Damn you, Indecision!

I hate Rhapsody

Late last night I posted the following to Twitter and Jaiku after an hour or two of wrestling with Rhapsody to try to get subscription tracks to work on my N95 after I read that the N95 supports Rhapsody:

“Oh for crying out loud, I HATE Rhapsody. I’ll be canceling it ASAP. (I’m a poet and didn’t know it)”

Today one of my Jaiku friends asked me why I hate Rhapsody since he loves it. Below is my response that I started typing as a reply in Jaiku, but realized it was rather lengthy, and decided to blog it instead. *smirk*

=====

Well, back when I bought my iRiver Clix 2, I signed up for Rhapsody To Go so I could try out subscription music on the device. I bought the Clix 2 2 or 3 months ago, and up until now, I have not yet been able to actually play subscription music on any portable device except for my computer. And the software is so bloaty and crashed so many times when I tried connecting my Clix 2 that for a long time I just left it alone and never tried much to figure out what was going on. I had thought I had a workaround by downloading the tracks on Rhapsody’s client and then transferring them over using MediaMonkey (another music management app that supports PlaysForSure devices) or even using Windows Media Player itself, but that didn’t work. When I tried to play the subscription tracks on the Clix 2, they wouldn’t play because of licensing issues, even though transferring the tracks over with WMP is something that other people have vouched for. At least when I tried out the Sandisk Sansa Connect, I was able to listen to Yahoo Music Unlimited subscription tracks both from transferring them to the device from my PC, and from downloading them directly to the Connect over its WiFi connection.

I’d read that the Clix 2, while compatible with PlaysForSure, had some issues with Rhapsody, so I forgave that, even though some people have gotten it to work on their Clix 2s through various methods (that didn’t work for me). But when I tried to put subscription tracks on my Toshiba Gigabeat S, that failed. And I excused that because I tried it at work a while back, and I thought that perhaps something in our firewall was blocking the licensing info or something, even though I’ve been able to play subscription tracks on my laptop just fine from work. I hadn’t bothered to follow up on this at home until last night.

I read that the N95 could play Rhapsody tracks, so I thought I’d try it. Everytime I tried transferring files over, I got “insufficient rights” problems. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software, deauthorizing and reauthorizing both my laptop and the N95 multiple times, I deleted the Rhapsody directory in the Application Data folder, as one of their troubleshooting tips suggested, and tried various other things. I have not once been able to get the subscription tracks onto a portable music device even though I’m paying extra to do so. I shouldn’t have to work so hard to get this stuff working in the first place. Obviously the DRM is a problem, and until they make it absolutely transparent to the user, if they’re going to insist on using this crap anyway, I’m not going to be paying for it.

It’s a shame because I really liked the subscription model, being able to pull up music that I hear about, or remember, or whatever, and usually being able to listen to tracks fully (not a 30-second sample, though I guess now that I think about it, some songs on Rhapsody are limited to 30-sec samples…) right away. I guess I have been thoroughly annoyed at certain albums being “purchase only” and having some albums not even fully available for subscription usage (only a selection of tracks available, often not the popular singles from the album, of course), so that’s another fault I see with subscription models in general. Feh. I have wasted a lot of time trying to make Rhapsody work, a lot more than I think it deserves. It works great if I just listen to it on my little laptop, or even logging on to Rhapsody.com on my iMac and streaming music through the web interface, which I did for a while. But I mainly listen to audio on my portable devices, so seamless listening on my laptop or online doesn’t help me a lot. Plus, I’m paying for the privilege of transferring those tracks over to my portables (up to 3, they claim), and Rhapsody has not delivered. So I’m dumping them very soon.

P.S. Rhapsody doesn’t even provide a way for canceling your subscription online; I checked. I may have been really annoyed with Yahoo Music Unlimited because of their annoying, bloaty software, but they at least had an option for me to cancel my trial subscription directly online, no hassle.

8 responses

  1. Forcey

    Clix 2 will be a fully Rhapsody-optimized device, meaning it will allow for a more fuller Rhapsody experience than just any regular mp3 player. There is a new firmware update for clix 2 that will allegdely carry the Rhapsody DNA (check with the vendor). Until then, I am waiting until the week of July 9th, when the clix 2 with Rhapsody DNA will be officially released.

    Do a Google search for clix 2 and rhapsody….
    Good luck….hopefully you will come back to the fold once your firmware issues are resolved.

    June 30, 2007 at 8:29 am

  2. earthworker_7

    I will also be cancelling rhapsody asap. The software works ok on multiple computers of mine however for some peculiar reason all of the really good music tracks have multiple gaps of dead air space in them. The music just drops out for a second or maybe five seconds and then comes back, sometimes right where it left off and sometimes ahead a bit. It makes enjoying what I have been paying for close to impossible. Sometimes a 4 minute song might have 4 or 7 of such gaps in it, always randomly placed. It does the same thing on all of my computers. It’s time to give other music services a chance for me.

    November 27, 2008 at 6:05 pm

  3. CJ

    I had Rhapsody on a computer that crashed during a generator test. I restored the system to an earlier date and all the programs were there and worked except Rhapsody. I tried to sign in and the screen flashed stopped. Wasn’t on long enough to even know what was going on. A few times on a PC and a MAC it sayed it was loading but didn’t get anywhere. Other times the site wouldn’t come up at all. (technical difficulties)
    I checked the firewalls and did everything suggested. Finally called Customer Service and didn’t get anywhere.
    Tryed to reinstall the program and a “can’t find file” error message came up at 86%. I thought the point of reloading Rhapsody was to replace missing files.
    The quality of the music is better on Rhapsody but it doesn’t do me any good if I can’t use it.
    I’ve spent days trying to resolve the issue.
    Trying to send an e-mail to customer service doesn’t work. (won’t even submit)
    I guess I will be using I-tunes and Napster!!!!!!!

    December 5, 2008 at 7:00 am

  4. James Woffinden

    I bought about 50 songs over time from Rhapsody. Both my computers had a virus and crashed, so I reformatted the drives and drivers, etc. on one computer and bought a new one. Rhapsody was then installed on both computers. Now Rhapsody plays anything but the songs I purchased from them! It is their stupid DRM stuff they have in the files. I have wasted 3 hours over two attempts to converse with them and find out how to fix the problem. Nothing they suggested works. They said they would have a higher level person contact me. Guess what? No email received! So I have wasted $50 being an honest person. They will not allow me to redownload the songs, either. It is a new policy they have. What did I learn from this? Always buy MP3, and not from Rhapsody.

    March 21, 2009 at 10:00 pm

  5. David Lee

    I just wasted 10 hrs trying to get Rhapsody to work on one device and then another. Their customer service is atrocious. Can’t authorize the devices….very frustrating. A good idea but obviously not fully together.

    May 5, 2009 at 9:45 pm

  6. Astro Banshee

    I have a lot of issues with Rhapsody trying to freeze up but I’m starting to think it’s the oem vista, napster was really bad too. I like Rhapsody better than Napster but they stopped doing to-go subs anyways. I’m gonna probably get Win 7 and reformat and see.

    October 16, 2009 at 3:04 am

  7. Tiffany from Austin,TX

    I hate Rhapsody so much. I want to use another service but the only other ones that worked, were bought out by Rhapsody!!! This service is such a serious I HATE YOU but have NO other alternative. The cost is minimal. And yes, we are scamming them, my husband and I both use the same account, no issue with that. WILL NOT pay for a 2nd account with how bad this service can be. I have SOOOOOO many issues, here are just a few: can’t log into Rhapsody to do anything, can’t get my Rhapsody player to sync properly so have to remove the 1000’s of songs to reformat and spend HOURS AND HOURS putting them back on, can’t put more than 100 songs on your player at a time (you can’t start a larger transfer and have it not time out), Rhapsody just doesn’t work, like today. Can log in but CANT DO ANYTHING!!! I seriously bitch about this crap all the time, have already called and yelled at customer service, which started out a calm conversation one time, a LONG time ago… but now I’m at the point of just meer and total disappointment. You’d think they are making so much money as this is the only service you can pay such a low fee, and get almost any song you want. ALMOST, as most popular songs have now gone from downloadable to not after a few months. They want you now to BUY everything, yeah right! I had the same problem as the a previous poster, songs got lost due to reformatting and I wasn’t allowed to redownload. I HATE THIS COMPANY!!! They are based in asia and their customer service is CRAP, (just in case I didn’t say that before)… but alas, here I am, stuck using their bullsh*t service and frustrated every day i use it. I HATE THIS!!! Why the hell wont they wake up and fix these MAJOR issues that everyone calls and posts about ALL THE TIME!!! GRRRRR!!!! …. I’ve been a customer of theirs for years and still have not found an alternative so just keep on paying until some freakin’ genious gets it right finally!

    February 2, 2010 at 3:36 pm

  8. What happened to the nice navigation in the Library. Now it just lists all the songs instead of categories that open and close saving space.

    So I upgrade to the newest version and reboot. Did not improve the crappy library and now all the songs I paid for WONT PLAY!

    I HATE THIS COMPANY!

    August 9, 2010 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

