Damn you, Indecision!

FYI

Just an FYI, the iPhone isn’t the only phone capable of viewing “real” websites.  The Nokia N95 (and other Symbian S60 Series 3 (?) devices) has a browser based on Apple’s WebCore technology, the same technology used in Safari.  Click here for a good article with an overview of the S60 browser.  I’m a new N95 user, so I don’t know much behind all the history, but all the raving about the S60 browser was a main factor that eventually led me to buy an N-series device.  I’m still learning about the N95, but so far I’m loving it.

Anyway, Sumocat’s latest post inspired me to take a couple pictures of the N95’s browser in action:

DSC_4011-web.jpg

Not only did the N95’s browser handle the drop down menu as shown here, but it also showed the pop-up Snap thumbnail previews of the sites listed in the menu when I “hovered” the cursor over a site link.  I was pleasantly surprised!

DSC_4007-web.jpg

And here it is showing Sumocat’s ink post.  I had to change the zoom level to 50% to get the whole ink post to fit on the screen, but as you can see, the image is preserved. 

The N95’s browser isn’t perfect (had some out-of-memory issues when I tried reloading the image-heavy site), but it’s so much better (IMO) than IE on Windows Mobile (bleh!).  More about my newbie experiences with the N95 and Symbian S60 OS later.

Powered by ScribeFire.

5 responses

  1. You can get Opera for Windows Mobile phones which renders sites correctly.
    I still mostly use IE since my area only has EDGE and my phone doesn’t have wifi; so loading up the WAP version of sites is preferred.

    June 14, 2007 at 3:26 am

  2. That’s so cool. I knew the Nokia Internet devices could handle it, but I didn’t realize their phones were also packing a serious browser. Based on the same core as Safari, eh? Hopefully that means the transparency fix (when I find it) will also work. I will of course be reposting this on Scribbles. Thanks!

    June 14, 2007 at 10:22 am

  3. Hey, I just got an email from Snap, which, in addition to touting new features, mentions that they they’ve been making their preview system work with WebCore since day one, so it’s no fluke that it works in S60.

    BTW, how well do the Links in Ink (TM) work? Do they go opaque when you hover? I need to fix that for Safari. For that matter, do they work at all? Your screen shots are in spots where I can’t tell.

    June 14, 2007 at 2:25 pm

  4. Hey, Sumocat, glad you liked the post. 🙂 Actually, though the N95 can display your blog page, it’s kind of touchy. I think that because of all the images that have to be loaded, the browser cache, or whatever dedicated memory the browser controls gets filled up in strange ways. So sometimes when I try to load the page, the top menu image and the ink blog post images do not load. I can’t just click on an individual missing ink blog post and make just that post reload. Subsequent tries at reloading the page often crashes the browser. So I basically have to clear the cache out and try loading the page again from scratch. Sometimes it works, sometimes it seems the page doesn’t really reload, and I get the missing ink posts again.

    However, when the page does load and I position the cursor over a Link in Ink, a box is drawn around the link, and the linked word becomes white, effectively making it disappear. But the link itself works when I click on it. I was going to try to take a picture of a Link in Ink in action, but last night I couldn’t get the page to reload properly.

    So yeah, the N95 browser can load the page, but because of memory issues, it doesn’t always load the images. I might be able to increase the cache size or something to help remedy that? Still a newb, so I can’t remember if that’s an option.

    June 14, 2007 at 3:28 pm

  5. Yep, opaque, just like in Safari. Need to work on that.

    June 14, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

