Damn you, Indecision!

iRiver Clix 2 – Unboxing Gallery

Hey, Kids!

I got my iRiver Clix 2 in the mail today and took a bunch of unboxing pics for you.  Check them out at Flickr.  Here’s a preview:

I haven’t had much chance to play with it, other than turn it on and explore the menus and the pre-loaded content.  My very, very, very first impression is that I really like this device.  It’s small and sleek, but the screen looks huge, since it takes up the majority of the front of the Clix 2.  The Clix navigation is very intuitive and responsive.  It has a lot of “personality” from the user-configurable wallpapers, themes, and fonts.  The AMOLED screen is bright and sharp.  The pre-loaded videos look pretty good from a quick glance.  I know I’m sounding fangirl-ish already, even though I haven’t even really gotten into the nitty-gritty with the player yet! 

At first glance, I think that this player is a worthy competitor to the iPod nano.  It trumps the nano in many ways — screen size, personalization of the player with wallpapers and themes, video support, and FM radio (though I couldn’t care less about this feature) built-in.  There’s an on-board mic for voice recording, and you can record FM radio (IIRC).  A memory card slot for expansion would have been nice, but since my iPod nano is 4GB, this is an even comparison.  An 8GB version of the Clix 2 is supposedly due in June.  I couldn’t wait that long. 😛  This is a well-done device from iRiver, and I look forward to using it as my “daily driver” for a while to see how it compares to my iPod for routine use, mainly for podcasts. 

I’ll be very interested to see how easily I can get content onto the device, considering this has been the downfall of many mp3 players for me (*ahemToshibaGigabeatS*).  As always, my best judge of a device is how well it fits into my daily routine.  If I have to change my routine greatly just to accommodate a device, it’s likely a no-go for me.

Let me know what questions you have, and I’ll try to address it during my testing.

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses

  1. James

    Oh man. . . keep us updated! I want all the gritty details on the Clix 2! This could be my next player when the 8gb one arrives. Get this: I bought a 256mb iRiver player back when they were $179. I’m still kicking myself for doing that!

    But they definitely make great products. Looking forward to more posts about it!

    April 28, 2007 at 1:11 pm

  2. Just seeing how you liked it and how it compared to Ipod. I ordered my Clix 2 yesterday and can’t wait! Hope you have great luck with yours, and thanks for the comparison.

    Nick

    May 18, 2007 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

