Damn you, Indecision!

Stream last.fm on your Wii

Was playing around with the full version of the Internet channel on the Nintendo Wii and was curious to see if I could use it to stream Pandora music.  Unfortunately the Pandora page wouldn’t load because the Wii kept running out of memory, supposedly.  I don’t know if putting an SD card into the Wii would help that out-of-memory error.

So then I tried to load last.fm, since it was the next web page I remembered that has streaming audio.  I don’t have a last.fm account, but I thought I might just find someone’s radio station or browse and stream some music from a tag or something.  It seems to stream the music just fine; I just picked the electronica tag and streamed that radio station.  I did get an out-of-memory error the first time I tried to skip a track, but the second time I skipped a track, it worked fine, so YMMV.

It looks ugly on my TV, and I already have my iMac hooked up to my TV as a media PC/DVR, so I’m probably not going to use this for my music streaming solution, but I thought it was interesting that the Wii browser could handle this.

In other news, I just tried watching a video on Youtube on the Wii browser, and it worked also, so that’s pretty cool.  However, because everything in the Wii browser looks a bit squished, like it’s in the wrong aspect ratio, so the videos also seem squished.  It annoys me, but some other people might not mind it so much.

A lot of other people have probably already blogged about this, but I just thought I’d post it in case no one has. I’m too lazy right now to Google whether or not this is the case. 😀

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 responses

  1. nicola

    it doesn’t work anymore, don’t know why

    May 18, 2009 at 12:19 am

  2. b2k

    because of new version of flash

    February 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

