Damn you, Indecision!

New blog sidebar: Jaiku

Like I posted before, I said that it was likely I’d sign up for a Tumblr account to start a little tumblelog, a mish-mash of stuff I want to share, be it a link, a video, a picture, or just some random thought.  Well, I tried to sign up for an account at Tumblr twice (with two different Gmail addresses, since they limit you to one login per e-mail) and never got the verification e-mail that would allow me to enable the account(s).  I signed up twice because I thought that perhaps my first e-mail account used was having issues, but I never got e-mails to either account, and I’ve been checking and double-checking the spam folder, so zip it. *smirk*  I e-mailed customer service twice 2 or 3 days and haven’t gotten so much as an automated e-mail back confirming that they got my message and will respond in 24 to 48 hours, or something.  Tumblr’s sign up page is so ridiculously bare (I luckily remembered the support e-mail address and even confirmed it with a friend who was able to sign up for an account) with no helpful info or links, except for the sign up stuff.  I don’t have tolerance for that kind of crappy customer service.  So, since friggin’ Tumblr can’t get their act together and help me create a Tumblr account, I have found (hopefully) an alternative — Jaiku

I saw the name once on Twitter (IIRC?) and another time today in a comment thread on an article about Twitter on Kottke.org (pretty good one, BTW).  To my surprise, I found it was very much like Twitter, though I don’t recall if they had a 140-character limit.  They even had a map on the front page with real-time Jaiku updates similar to Twittervision.  However, it seems Jaiku is like the love-child of Twitter and tumblelogs, because you can feed in other stuff to your Jaiku stream, like Flickr photostreams, music, videos, and other RSS feeds, even Twitter!  So what I did was sign up for an account (the process when smoothly, unlike with Tumblr) and then point my Google Reader shared links feed, Flickr feed, and my Twitter feed (just my comments, not with friends) to the Jaiku feed.  Then I took the RSS link for the Jaiku feed and used it as my sidebar.  So now if you visit my site, you can see the last 10 items I’ve shared, whether it is from Flickr, Twitter, or Google Reader.  Phew!  There are probably other services much like Jaiku, Twitter, or Tumblr; I just haven’t heard of them yet. šŸ™‚  I think Yahoo Pipes is another way to filter RSS feeds, but I don’t know if you can mix and mash feeds together with it.

If you’re like me and don’t often visit most webpages anymore, instead opting for consuming RSS feeds, here’s my Jaiku RSS feed link.

I like the way Jaiku looks, and I definitely like that it can consist of more than just whatever link or random thought you choose to type out.  The only problem is that I don’t think most of the people I follow on Twitter have Jaiku accounts, so it’s pretty boring as a Twitter replacement.  But at least I found a way to do tumblelogs. šŸ™‚  It looks kind of messy in my sidebar, because of the theme’s margin settings, unfortunately.  Oh well, no biggie.  We’ll see how well it holds up over the next week or so.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One response

  1. I love your ” jaiku is the lovechild of tumblelogs and twitter” quote.. wonderful…

    I like jaiku because it doesn’t lock the community in an application – I can even comment on people’s del.icio.us if I want to

    March 21, 2007 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

