Damn you, Indecision!

Tracksticks are evil

Just a quick rant here: I hate the little trackstick/eraser nub thing on Pigio. It is so annoying! It’s not that accurate. It’s uncomfortable to use. And the worst thing about it is the whole “recoiling” thing… I don’t know what it’s called. It’s when the trackstick has been held in one direction for a long time, like when I’m scrolling down a long webpage, and the cursor becomes too hard to manipulate because the trackstick has to reset back to a neutral position. So I have to let go of the trackstick and watch the cursor fly in the opposite direction [and] slide along whichever edge of the screen it hits, until the trackstick has rid itself of all of its stored-up potential energy. >:P And recently it seems like this has been happening a lot more frequently lately. So I guess one of my alternatives is to buy a travel mouse? What a pain. I guess I could opt for that flat, PC-card-sized mouse (MoGo mouse, IIRC?) that fits into Pigio’s PC card slot and hope that it doesn’t bring on a killer case of carpal tunnel! Yeah, I could just use the stylus to mouse around the screen [and I do], but I find it tedious and awkward to do when in laptop mode.

I know it’s not really feasible to put a trackpad on a laptop this size, but you would think someone would’ve thought of a much better alternative to the trackstick by now. What about a little trackball instead? If they can put one on a BlackBerry Pearl, I think it’d be no problem on the Fujitsu…

Fujitsu, are you listening? And while you’re at it, add some kind of jog wheel (mechanical, please) on the side of the screen to use for scrolling through a page while in slate mode!

3 responses

  1. I feel similarly about my trackpad; I never use it. Thought about packing a mouse, but I do quite well with the pen when in laptop mode, but that’s probably because I only switch to laptop mode when I’m away from the desk and really need to type. In those cases, I have less need for cursor control.

    February 26, 2007 at 5:41 pm

  2. Tip: you can use the fingerprint to scroll when in tablet mode.

    Not quite as good as a jog wheel, but for scrolling, it works well.

    March 11, 2007 at 4:38 pm

  3. Hi, Charles. Yes, I know about the fingerprint reader acting as a scroller in tablet mode, but I found that if I accidentally touch the reader while inking, it causes vectoring. So I turned off the navigation functionality of the fingerprint reader.

    Might turn it back on if I keep my inking to a minimum on Pigio.

    March 16, 2007 at 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

