Damn you, Indecision!

Dead Xbox 360 USB ports…ARGH!

UPDATE: Yeah, I just spoke too soon. I always do this… 🙂 I kept going through the search results for “xbox 360 repair”, hoping to find a 3rd-party repair shop, and found a link to a Joystiq article describing a similar situation, where a USB peripheral was in use, and in this guy’s case, the power strip had accidentally gotten kicked out of the wall socket. After that happened, his USB ports seemed broken, and he couldn’t even pair up his wireless controllers.

The author described going through the initial setup process again, which ultimately fixed his problem. I was excited to try the same thing after I got home. I disconnected my 360 hard drive so that no information would be lost, then went through the initial setup. I didn’t really change any settings; I just clicked through the screens and then finished out of the process. I was under the impression that the 360 would then reset itself following the setup procedure, but it didn’t. It didn’t seem to have had any effect on recognizing the HD-DVD drive that was still plugged into the box. So at this point, I decided to completely unplug the 360. For whatever reason, I hadn’t thought to unplug the box the night the power outage occurred. After I plugged the box back in, I could tell that the HD-DVD drive was being recognized again! Woohoo!

Never underestimate the power of unplugging a machine and powering it back up again. *sheepish grin*

=====Below follows my whiny sob story=====

Pfff… Last weekend the hubby and I were watching one of the extras on The Manchurian Candidate HD-DVD (an okay movie) when our power flickered for a second. After we got the TV and 360 reset, the 360 wouldn’t recognize the HD-DVD drive anymore! I thought perhaps the HD-DVD drive got fried somehow, but after trying to connect it to the Mac mini (I’d read online that OS X would recognize the 360’s HD-DVD drive as an optical drive), confirmed that there was nothing wrong with the HD-DVD drive. I then tried to hook up my Gigabeat S to the 360, since I was able to stream music from it before, and it was not recognized as a portable player. I tried all 3 USB ports and it seems that they get power, but are not otherwise functional.

I don’t understand how this could happen! I even tried to reinstall the HD-DVD driver software, thinking that perhaps the driver had been deleted or something, but the install would not recognize the HD-DVD plugged into any of the 3 ports.

Waaaaaaaaahhhhh… Now we don’t have a way to watch our HD-DVD rentals from Netflix (or the three HD-DVD movies we own). *hanging head down* My brother said he was willing to lend us his 360, but I don’t know if I’ll take him up on that offer. Man, what a PITA! Yeah, I could send it in to Microsoft and have it repaired, but I don’t know if I want to deal with the hassle/expense, since it’s probably not covered under warranty.

There’s a way to hook up the 360 HD-DVD drive to a PC and use it there, but I don’t think we have a PC in the house that has enough processing power to play true HD content. We also don’t have the necessary version of DVD player software that handles HD-DVDs/Blu-Ray. Even if Leopard’s version of the DVD Player app can handle HD discs, I don’t think our current Mac mini’s processor would be able to handle it.

Pfff, what a waste! Just whining about my latest tech loss. HMPH. >:P

5 responses

  1. Scott Jackson

    i know this post is about a year old, but thank you. my power strip decided to shit out on me (which i had connected to my 360) and my usb ports wouldn’t work and neither would my wireless controllers. after resetting everything and running the initial setup, everything works! thank you!

    January 22, 2009 at 3:46 am

    • Infamous

      How did you run the initial set up?

      November 11, 2009 at 12:23 am

  2. I’m glad this post helped. One of the main motivations I have for posting stuff like this is to help out other people in the same situation.

    January 25, 2009 at 12:40 am

  3. Camille J Bowens

    Thank you so much for the post! I don’t know why I didn’t think of that before! Duh, and I called myself the queen of geeks 🙂

    July 19, 2009 at 5:02 pm

  4. Jeff-AKA_qepsilonp

    I have tried this like 100 times i sware but its just not working… grrr the only reason i want this is because i want to be able to play moives of my external hard drive that i download from legitimate sources.

    enywho wtf it worked like once then it stoped working AGAIN… and im only doing this for my mum for crying out load, and it worked after like 50 attempts and i have done another 50 so why the hell is it not working!!!

    when someone else does it can they give me the actual steps they took do you disconnect the power from the console its self or the transformer or the plug or do you turn the plug off, or does it not matter and my xbox is just being a plain whore.

    March 24, 2010 at 1:20 am

Leave a Reply

