Damn you, Indecision!

5 Things You Don’t Know About Me

A long while back, Sumocat tagged me as one of the bloggers to post “5 things you don’t know about me”.  I’ve procrastinated long enough.  I was going to write this list out, but my previous couple attempts didn’t work out that well (and to be honest, this is a longer post than I like to write out longhand), so I’m just typing it out now.

1.  Even though I can get really freaked out by certain horror movies (like Ju-On or The Ring, not that Final Destination and I Know What You Did Last Summer crap), I still wind up watching some.  The worst freak out happened when I watched The Blair Witch Project in the theatre.  I was relatively fine during the day, but at night I would listen to my CD player until I couldn’t stay awake anymore (which meant that I usually fell asleep with the CD player still going, and the lights still on in my room).  This lasted a week, and I got sick because of it. πŸ˜›

2.  I have a ridiculously short attention span (or maybe you have inferred this from my posts already *smirk*).  99% of the time when I get my magazines in the mail, or buy them from the newsstands, I just flip through them a few times and never read any of the longer articles no matter how interesting they look.  Later on when I have to throw away some of the older magazines to clean up, then I may or may not read through the articles.  I may just rip out certain articles to read “later” (read: never). *slapping forehead*  

     Right now I have started the following books: Rainbow’s End by Vernor Vinge, Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay (e-book on my MDA), Quidditch Through the Ages (yes, a Harry-Potter-related book) by Kennilworthy Whisp (a.k.a. J.K. Rowling), and The Perfect Thing: How the iPod Shuffles Commerce, Culture, and Coolness by Steven Levy.  I’m probably furthest through Rainbow’s End, and I was planning to have it finished while I was still on Christmas/New Year’s vacation, but something distracted me from my semi-regular reading schedule.  And just the other day I was at Borders over my lunch break, tempted to buy yet another book!  Totally ridiculous.  What’s really stupid is that if I am motivated to read a book, I can finish it off in a day or two (especially if I have the e-book version).  Otherwise, books can take me months to finish.  Oh yeah, a year or so ago I started Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson for the second time and I still haven’t gotten through it. *sigh*

3.  I have lived in the Philippines for around 3 years when I was younger.  My parents are from the Philippines, but I was born in Iowa.  I think it was when I was around 6 or 7 that we moved to the Philippines for a few years.  I’m glad for the experience of living in the Philippines because I was able to experience the Filipino culture fully.  While I was there, I went to two different private schools, one Catholic and one Protestant.  I’m glad I was able to get back into the public school system when we moved back to the US.  Uniforms are the suck.

4.  I’m 5’1″.  Probably not hard to imagine, now that you know my parents are Filipino. *smirk*

5.  Contrary to most people’s experiences, I enjoyed high school a lot better than I enjoyed college.  My closest friends are ones I knew in high school, not in college.  Through a lot of shyness and other circumstances, I did not forge many lasting friendships with my fellow college alumni.  Oh well!

Since it took me so long to post this, I am not going to tag anyone… πŸ™‚  I think a lot of the bloggers I would’ve tagged have already been tagged and posted their list by now!

5 responses

  1. How long have you been using Snap? The link preview is way cool. Also, I didn’t realize you’re Filipino. (Hence, it truly is one of five things I didn’t know about you.)

    January 23, 2007 at 7:54 pm

  2. I didn’t add that Snap link preview feature; WordPress.com must’ve done it globally. I have seen it on other sites and actually didn’t realize that it was on my own site until you mentioned it. πŸ™‚

    And re: not knowing I am Filipino, does it mean that you knew about the other 4 things on my list? Because that would be weird (except for knowing I have a short attention span; that’s probably rather obvious πŸ™‚ )! πŸ˜€

    January 23, 2007 at 8:52 pm

  3. I enjoy horror movies as well. The one that scared me the most after watching it was Pet Cemetary. I woke up in the middle of the night and my cat was hissing at me. Now that is creepy.

    I also have a hard time finishing books because of other things I have to do. Right now I am stuck in the middle of “The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle” and “Magyk by Sage.”

    I feel your pain about the short thing. I’m 5’3 and my husband is 6’1. We make the oddest looking couple. LOL.

    January 24, 2007 at 3:00 pm

  4. Hi, Malinda. Yeah, actually I have not really seen any Stephen King horror movies, which I suppose is like saying I’ve never seen an episode of Friends or Seinfeld or Cheers, etc. πŸ™‚ I should put some of those movies like Pet Cemetary and The Shining in my Netflix queue. Thanks for the reminder!

    January 24, 2007 at 6:39 pm

  5. Well, true enough, I didn’t know any of the five, but during the first “ink blog explosion”, I noticed Hugh, Silver, and I were all of Asian descent. Now I realize that was true for all four of us. If Hugh ever lived on a Pacific island, that would be the icing on the cake.

    January 26, 2007 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

