Damn you, Indecision!

Holiday Shopping

Hi, All! How is your holiday shopping going? Have you started yet? I did, I think even before Thanksgiving weekend, but even so, now I’m kind of stuck. Being the gadget fiend I am, of course I want to buy everyone techie presents. Problem is that most of my family/extended family probably wouldn’t get as much use or enjoyment out of these gadgets as I would. Oh, I’m not completely useless at finding non-tech gifts… on the contrary, with a little bit of skill honing and expansion of my list of places to shop, I could’ve been a pretty successful personal shopper. 🙂 I just happen to be experiencing some “shopper’s block”, as it were. That and some budgetary constraints. :p

So how is your holiday shopping progressing so far? Are you one to wait until Dec. 24th to start? *smirk* What techie (or non-techie) toys are you buying for you friends & family this year?

5 responses

  1. Can’t wait ’til the Eve; most of my family lives on the left coast and beyond. Did a few tech gifts. Don’t want to give anything away but suffice to say, they aren’t Zune-related.

    November 30, 2006 at 9:12 pm

  2. joebob

    Buy an electronic ’20 questions’ ball.

    December 1, 2006 at 2:31 pm

  3. Hi, Sumocat. 🙂 Congrats on the new Tablet! It looks heavy. 🙂 No Zune for you? Me, neither… Even though I don’t need another mp3 player (I’m currently using my PDA phone as my netcast player), I’m awfully interested in the iriver Clix 4GB. It is one nice device. I’m also interested in what Apple’s going to announce at MacWorld. Should be an interesting “answer” to the Zune, I’d guess, along with the iTV prototype being finalized.

    I did a huge chunk of online shopping last night (my checking acct hates me), but I’m still not quite done. Gotta find a few more presents, but I do feel better about getting the majority of the gifts ordered up. Now it’s a waiting game…

    @joebob: Those 20Q toys are interesting, but they’d get old fast. Not a very long lasting stocking stuffer!

    December 1, 2006 at 3:11 pm

  4. My wife loves shopping on Black Thursday. However, this year we started about two weeks before that. She did the Black Thursday thing as well. Yesterday we went to the Discover Store. She is a teacher and they passed out 30% off coupons at her work (don’t deflate that by telling me how many others got them) and we saved $70 on what should be just able the last of the presents for children. My son has a birthday tomorrow and I have one Tuesday. My wife bought me a two pack of Cube World. They are cute, I may have to get the other two to complete the set.

    I think I want the Zune. I won’t get it for the holidays (at least not this year). I am looking at a bunch of music services to see which I like. If I like Zune Marketplace I will consider getting the Zune. I don’t like the closed nature, as I don’t like it with the iPods. But the Zune and iPod both seem to be very slick in design. And each of their software are the best in my book. I am soooo torn.

    Enjoy your holidays. If you are shopping for me stick to techie gifts… even if it is not the Zune, He he!

    December 9, 2006 at 8:26 am

  5. Hi, Scott. Thanks for posting your comment!

    I remember seeing Cube World stuff a while back, and trying to mentally make a note of it to purchase later. Thanks for the reminder… Might need to purchase some of those for myself sometime. 🙂

    My brother got a Zune and he loves it. He’s a major Apple guy and has his own iPod collection, as well as tons of iTunes music that he had to “convert” in order to use on his Zune, so the fact that he really likes it is saying something. However, he just got it a few days ago, so we’ll see if his opinion changes after a while of using it.

    You may have seen my rants about the Toshiba Gigabeat S (as well as my comparison article between the Gigabeat S and the Zune); I love the interface on the Zune/Gigabeat S, but I do not like Windows Media Player (which is pretty much what the Zune Marketplace software is). So I’m going to wait it out and see how the Zune Marketplace software improves (or not).

    Anyway, the Christmas shopping is all done, finally. Gotta do some last bits of gift wrapping, and then pack for the weekend trip back to Iowa for an early Christmas get-together… The next couple weeks are going to be hectic, I predict. 🙂

    December 14, 2006 at 3:20 pm

Leave a Reply

