Damn you, Indecision!

Reconsidering touchscreen devices…

Just yesterday Kevin Tofel posted on JKOntheRun about the “Constant Touch” settings on the Q1 to configure the sampling rate for the digitizer. This picture from the blog post really intrigued me:

constant_touch.jpg

The lower you set the Constant Touch value, the finer the ink resolution becomes. I tried it out on the hubby’s borrowed Q1 and set the value to 1, the lowest it would go. I was amazed at the results! I would’ve done an ink blog from the Q1 to demonstrate, but I ended up distracted by trip-related errands (going out of town for the weekend).

I probably will still put up an ink blog post from the Q1 sometime, but Kevin’s Journal snapshot pretty much demonstrates this cool feature.

Speaking of devices with touchscreens, I have been lax at virtually jumping up and down because of the sudden appearance of reviews and videos for the two Tablet devices I’m most interested in right now — the Lenovo x60 and the Fujitsu P1610! I haven’t had a chance yet to watch all of the video reviews from GottaBeMobile, so my excitement is still just based on specs I’ve read about the Lenovo Tablet. πŸ™‚ And just a few minutes ago I saw that James got a review unit of the Fujitsu P1610…lucky dog! πŸ˜€

While I’m disappointed that the multi-touch screen on the Lenovo is lower-res than my M200’s screen (it’s not surprising, given the current state of touchscreen technology…I was just hoping they’d figure out a way to make the multi-touch high-res anyway), I am very very very tempted by this Tablet. It kind of trumps the Asus R2H as far as possible future purchases for me right now. πŸ™‚

The Fujitsu P1610 really interests me as well, especially because of the reports of really good palm-rejection software, but I don’t know if I would buy it over the Lenovo. At this point the Lenovo is ahead, but just by a smidgen… I might ultimately decide that having a really small convertible Tablet (which would end up replacing any need for a current UMPC offering) is the way to go, but for right now I’m just going to pore over all of the reviews and videos that are out there and start figuring out how I’m going to pay for either device. *smirk*

Leave a Reply

