Damn you, Indecision!

Interesting mobile tech anecdotes

Recently I read a couple different “day in the life”-type anecdotes from people successfully using mobile tech to help them be productive.  The first article I saw was on Girls Gone Mobile (linked to by JKOntheRun) by Hamish McDonald.  He outlined how he used paper, a Pocket PC, and a Bluetooth keyboard to write articles or parts of his novels.  Very intriguing to read about his process.  I am not really an aspiring novel writer (though I did write a couple nice poems back in my high school career), but his workflow can still apply to many other writing activities, like for work, or for blogging.

The second “day in the life” article I read was from JK himself, describing a normal day in his hectic life.  Wow, I feel so sloth-like compared to James! πŸ™‚  I don’t know how he keeps up his energy level.  I think if I had even half or a third of his busy schedule I’d be ready to tear my hair out by the end of the day, every day. *sheepish grin*

Nonetheless, reading both of these stories has inspired me to figure out how I can better use my own mobile tech to get more done each day (at the very least, I should be blogging more!).  The articles also inspired a bit of gadget lust, in the case of buying a good Bluetooth keyboard to use with my MDA when I want to type up longer blog posts or something.  Also, the portable power supply that James mentioned sounds very very handy, especially when I do the little traveling I manage during the year, like for holidays, or when I go to the annual Detroit auto show, etc.  Being able to drastically pair down the number of AC adapters (if any) I’d have to bring would be a HUGE benefit when traveling.

Take a look at the couple of stories I linked to above.  Hopefully they inspire you to think about how to better use your mobile tech.  Got any other similar anecdotes to share?  Please post in the comment thread. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

