Damn you, Indecision!

Found It! (was: Where’s the $20 T-Mobile Unlimited Data Plan?)

EDITOR’S NOTE (10/12/06, 10:05pm): I got a hold of Matt Miller from the Mobile Tech Roundup podcast since he is a T-Mobile user and mentioned that he had the elusive $19.99 unlimited data plan that I have been wondering about. He said that it’s not listed on the T-Mobile web site because they’d prefer users buy the unlimited data plan + WiFi hotspot access plan for $29.99. But, he said that I could probably ask for the unlimited data plan without the hotspot access to get the pricing down to $19.99. So keep that in mind, T-Mobile-ites! πŸ™‚

I am going to try and stick out relying on open WiFi access points for now. I actually have the T-Zones WAP data plan and with some magic proxy tweaking, I can do some quick browsing from the MDA, if I want to look up an address or directions, or quickly check Gmail via GPRS. It’s such a slow connection that I wouldn’t do much with it for very long intervals anyway!

===== Original blog post text below: =====

A while back I was complaining that I didn’t want to get a data plan from Cingular or T-Mobile (I’m a GSM kind of gal) because they’re too expensive — around $50 or $60 or $70 a month — for the light usage I anticipate. However, I remember some comment (not sure where; thought it was on my blog but I couldn’t find it again) saying that T-Mobile has an unlimited data plan that includes access to T-Mobile hotspots for $20/month. Looking at T-Mobile’s site now, I can’t find any data plan that is only $20, except for the plan that allows hotspot access only, no EDGE or EV-DO, or whatever T-Mobile’s data plan is called.

Is there a magic data plan that people know about and have to ask for by name? If so, please post. I’m not entirely sure I’m going to sign up for it right away because although I could get use out of it locally, I don’t think I could get data coverage when I’m visiting my parents out in Iowa (which is the main time I’d really need it because they don’t have broadband), since my cell phone coverage is roaming out there. The other time I wished I had mobile broadband was when I was out in North Carolina, where the supposed free wifi at the hotels we stayed in often didn’t work. I think out there my cell phone was roaming as well, so mobile broadband would’ve been useless. So while the idea sounds good, I don’t know if I’d get as much use out of it as others do.

I wish there were a pay-as-you-go plan, sort of like with text messages. I don’t pay for a text message plan because I don’t text very often. I don’t mind paying 5 or 10 cents once in a while. If I had to pay $2 or $3 or $4 for a day pass of mobile broadband, or pay by the KB/MB, I wouldn’t mind. But even $20/month is a bit steep for my light usage… Even so, please let me know what T-Mobile’s $20 data plan is called so I can keep it in mind for reference. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

