Damn you, Indecision!

Got a new toy…too busy to blog

Not really, more like too lazy. *sheepish grin* Busy-ness at work + the return of many fine TV shows + plus getting a new gadgety toy + being too tired from a bad sleep schedule = drop in blog posts. I’m going to try to get back into the swing of things, though. There have been so many gadget news articles that I’ve been sharing in my Google Reader feed (sidebar of the blog, in case you didn’t notice…you can subscribe to it, too, if you’re so inclined) that I wanted to comment on, but they keep wizzing by as I try to surf up info about my new T-Mobile MDA! πŸ˜€

T-Mobile MDA

You’d think that as a neophiliac I’d already have a converged device, but I just bought my first PDA phone last Saturday. I will write in detail about my “PDA as mobile podcast device” experiment later (there isn’t anything really earth shattering, just thoughts about how my experiment went…podcatching on PDAs is definitely not new); that experiment and my growing irritation at my “dumbphone” led to the purchase. One of the reasons I switched to a different phone was that my previous phone (a black RAZR) had awful reception in my office, specifically in my cube. I would always have to leave my cube to take phone calls. Unfortunately, it seems that even though the T-Mobile MDA is a much larger phone, its reception is possibly worse than my RAZR, because I have to put it on my desk as close to the entrance to the cube (towards the windows on my side of the office) as possible just to get one or two bars of signal strength. *sigh* I wish there were a little clip-on, extendable antenna that I could attach to the back that I could use in order to get better reception at my desk, but then fold away when I’m elsewhere.

Anyway, besides the reception problems, I’ve been surfing up necessary accessories and applications, and general info about how people are using their MDAs. I haven’t even scratched the surface with the different customization/launcher programs I can use, like SPB Pocket Plus, or Wisbar Advance. Just started reading about those this evening. I’ve mainly been trying to get my podcatching and media playback software going. I installed TCPMP and the appropriate plug-ins to play my podcasts, whether they’re mp3 or AAC. I also have Egress installed as my podcatcher, but I might just switch that functionality over to pRSSReader. I use pRSSReader for my regular RSS feed reading, because I don’t like Egress for reading feeds. Egress can download enclosures directly from within the application, while pRSSReader needs to launch an external browser for downloads, which I didn’t like at first, but now am thinking is not a big deal. Besides, pRSSReader is free. πŸ™‚

At any rate, I’m getting used to a Pocket PC phone. I was getting pretty familiar with Windows Mobile 2003 SE during my mobile podcatching experiment with a Dell Axim x50v, but throwing Windows Mobile 5 as well as phone functionality into the mix in the T-Mobile MDA is making me have to adjust what I knew before. It’s fun, though, and I’ll be sure to write up my “lessons learned” as I go along. I probably won’t have many new information to impart to you converged device veterans, but you may find it amusing to see a newbie’s POV on owning and operating a PDA phone. πŸ™‚

In the meantime, do you have any essential software that you run on your PDA phone? I saw a very good starter list on a recent blog post at Judie Hughes’ Gear Diary (check out her blog; it’s got a lot of great articles!), and revisited a recent post on JKOntheRun. Besides TCPMP, pRSSReader, and Egress, I have eReader, HandyShopper, iGuidance, and Magic Button installed. I’ll blog more about these apps later.

Okay, it’s getting late, and I’d like to try to catch up on more sleep. I hope some of you will send comments about what apps you run on your PDAs/PDA phones! Thanks in advance. πŸ˜€

One response

  1. Not software per-se, but there are custom ROM’s available for the MDA (aka the HTC Wizard, the name of the unbranded device). These ROM’S can improve things such as the amount of free space (by stripping out unused fluff), or radio/signal performance by mixing in a custom update.

    Here’s the ROM I use, it markedly improved the signal from my out-of-the-box MDA:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=274205

    There’s also this radio-only ROM update, I haven’t tried it yet but people are saying good things:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=279380

    Obviously all this falls into the ‘power user’ category, so please read the site and make sure you have a good grasp of the concepts before attempting any flashing πŸ™‚

    Andrew

    October 11, 2006 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

