Damn you, Indecision!

Vista RC1 killed my productivity

Well, I know it’s just a case of newbie-ism, because I’m not used to testing out beta versions of Vista and tweaking drivers, etc. to make the M200 work the way it did with Windows XP Tablet Edition (+ SP2).  The behavior of my M200 is expected — the tablet buttons don’t work; automatic rotation doesn’t work; rotating the screen manually using the Windows Mobility Center in Vista is a crapshoot with this tweaked NVidia driver; and on, and on, and on…  I wouldn’t mind playing around with it if I had another machine to use alternatively, but I installed it onto my only PC, so it has effectively killed my usage of OneNote at work (having spotty rotation into slate mode is SUPER annoying).  And because of all this weird behavior, I haven’t reinstalled my usual cadre of programs — EverNote, Windows Live Writer, all my Firefox extensions, etc.  I just installed the Office 2007 beta; tried installing iTunes 7, which works for the most part, but hung in the middle of updating my nano’s software to the latest version of firmware (luckily it didn’t toast the nano); and stopped there.  This is also part of the reason why I haven’t been blogging the past few days (don’t really like blogging directly on WordPress.com now that Windows Live Writer works so well for me).I tried to reinstall the Amazon Unbox player, but it wouldn’t install on a machine that doesn’t have XP SP2.  I tried to install some other programs that were balking at the version of .NET I had.  All in all, not a happy experience for me, even though I was able to try out Aero glass and ooh and aah at how pretty Vista is.  I even trained the HWR, and it does seem to recognize my “real” handwriting better (I normally write in all caps, as seen in my ink blog posts).  Oh yeah, I was going to import all my backed up OneNote notebooks, but for whatever reason, my PC was having issues accessing the backed up files from my Gigabeat S. 😛  Blah…

I got to try streaming videos to my XBox 360 finally, and while it worked pretty well, I was disappointed at the lack of general codec support.  I tried to play an XviD (I think) file, and while I installed the codec onto my M200 and could play the file in Windows Media Player 11, it wouldn’t play on the 360.  While it was momentarily surprising, it didn’t take long for that to wear off.  Of course Microsoft wouldn’t want to support a codec like XviD/DivX out of the box.  I think there may have been some hack, but just like I didn’t want to deal with hacking drivers, I didn’t want to deal with hacking Windows Media Center Extender functionality.

So I think tonight or sometime soon I’m going to revert back to my Toshiba M200 XP image.  I’ll have to remember to install SP2 and stuff, and pray that my wireless network connection works better this time around (it will probably help that I switched the router to WEP instead of WPA).  At least I’ll have a fresh install that will fix my messed up audio driver problem that I blogged about a while ago, and get back to a lean install to build back up with select apps.

Before y’all start flaming, I’m not saying that Vista RC1 sucks.  I am just not ready to deal with this pre-release version of Vista on hardware that is clearly on the low-end of Vista capability.  I don’t want to mess around with drivers and lack of certain hardware functionality like automatic screen rotation, the hard-key mapping for changing screen brightness, and all that; not on the only PC I have to use for both work and personal tasks.  So I guess at the moment I’m not cut out for customer preview beta testing.  I want my computer to work with minimal fuss (beyond the basic fuss associated with running Windows in general…*smirk*).  So back to my regular XP Tablet install…  Bye bye, pretty Vista. 😦

2 responses

  1. Shahn Hohgan

    Hi, have you installed the Tablet PC Buttons Driver that come on your Toshiba Restore DVD. After you do that your buttons will work. Rotation will work if you install version 46.44 nVidia Drivers provided from Toshiba and then install the rotation utility.

    You should be able to download those drivers here: http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/tais/su/su_sc_modItemList.jsp?moid=519121&ct=DL&BV_SessionID=@@@@1445118518.1158181397@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccciaddilefjddecgfkceghdgngdgnn.0

    Also, if your interested in using your function keys you can install the Common Modules and Hotkey drivers for the M4 and they work fine on the M200 (http://www.csdsupport.toshiba.com/tais/csd/support/windows_vista/vista_beta.cgi?lsAction=list_files&model_id=10).

    Good luck!

    September 13, 2006 at 4:07 pm

  2. John

    I also had the “vista + itunes 7” problem with rc1 except it killed my 30gb itunes and the ipod locked up during the software update then nothing would see my ipod after that : ( i took it back to best buy and they replaced it and i went back to xp

    September 20, 2006 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

